vefdownloads.blogg.se

Ember mugs
Ember mugs












ember mugs

For posterity’s (and your budget’s) sake, I decided to try out the Ember mug and find out for myself whether this high-tech mug could be worth its $100 price tag. So, when I came across the idea of temperature-regulating mugs like the ones launched by Ember, it seemed like a perfect solution.

ember mugs

There is also a two-hour inactivity shut-off, so if you don't pick it up for two hours it will switch itself off.After years of slowly sipping coffee only to toss it out or heat it up in the microwave when it gets cold, I’ve been burned (metaphorically) by lukewarm drinks one too many times. When you place it on the charger with a hot beverage inside, it will maintain that temperature indefinitely, though it won't recharge the battery any higher to avoid overheating. If you want the Ember Mug 2 to keep drinks heated for a long time, then you should put the charging coaster on your desk or wherever you usually sit. It can then serve up a few cups of tea in late afternoon and evening before going back on the charging coaster overnight. It takes about two hours to charge up fully. I've been washing it out and putting it back on the charging coaster in my kitchen late morning, and then it's ready for tea service in the afternoon. When the battery gets low, the app pings to warn you, but that's only happened once. I tend to drink my first mug of coffee quite quickly, but my second mug stretches out across the morning. I've been using the Ember Mug 2 every day for a week now. The mug then maintains that temperature until you're finished, or until it runs out of battery.Įmber said that the battery should last for 90 minutes and that seems about right. A short while later, my phone pinged with a notification telling me that my coffee had reached the ideal temperature to drink. To kick off testing, I poured a cup of coffee, picked coffee in the presets (which defaults to a temperature of 134 degrees Fahrenheit), and set my mug aside to work. You can pair up to six Ember mugs with the app. Once again, there are presets like three minutes for green tea or five minutes for black tea, and you can set your own timers for your preferred brew time. The LED also changes color to signify different things, so red means low battery, solid white means your ideal temperature has been reached, and blue means it's updating the firmware.īelow the presets, you'll also find a Tea Timer section, which allows you to set an alarm for the perfect brew time. You can switch between Fahrenheit and Celsius, change the brightness of the LED, and set the LED color (I chose purple). Choose your beverage and stick with the preset temperature, or swipe left or right to increase or decrease it to suit your personal preferences. A latte is set to 131 degrees Fahrenheit, for example, while green tea is set to 137 degrees. Tap the arrow at the bottom, and you can see several presets for different drinks. The main screen says Empty until you put something in the mug, then it displays the temperature on a sliding scale along the bottom. You configure your Ember Mug 2 using the mobile app and it's all very straightforward. The Ember Mug 2 removes all doubt by telling you when the ideal temperature has been reached. How soon do you risk a sip? Too keen and you'll be rewarded with a scalded tongue, but leave it too long and you may miss the perfect temperature window when your hot drink is at its most pleasurable to slurp. There's always a gamble in that period after you make a cup of tea or coffee.

ember mugs

It's not just about keeping your drink warm. I've gotten so used to it that after just one week of testing, I don't think I can go back to a regular mug.

ember mugs

A smart mug may sound ridiculous, and at $99.95, it's not a cheap purchase. The Ember Mug 2 is the top smart mug in our buying guide to coffee mugs because it aims to make your cold tea and coffee woes a thing of the past with temperature controls you can configure from your phone. So what do you do? You can pour it away and make a new cup, or give it a blast in the microwave, but neither is an ideal solution. That hasty glug of forgotten tea or coffee is always unpleasant. My wife does the same thing with almost every cup of tea I make her. When I get absorbed in work, I frequently forget about the cup of coffee on my desk until it's gone cold and lost its allure.














Ember mugs